Friday, April 11, 2025

07:30 PM | Schermerhorn Symphony Center



07:30 PM
Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Saturday, April 12, 2025

07:30 PM | Schermerhorn Symphony Center



07:30 PM
Schermerhorn Symphony Center

This concert is currently only available to 2024/25 Subscribers.

Subscribe today for pre-sale access and incredible savings for all 2024/25 Season concerts. If you're already a 2024/25 season subscriber, click the Subscriber Pre-Sale" button for early access.

Subscribe Today  Subscriber Pre-Sale

Single Tickets for general public access are available on July 19 at 10 AM.


Nashville Symphony | Anthony Parnther, conductor | Demarre McGill, flute | Titus Underwood, oboe Anthony McGill, clarinet | Andrew Brady, bassoon

Anthony Parnther’s Classical subscription debut pairs works elevating underrepresented voices with a seminal symphony. Known for her seamless fusion of Chinese folk music with Western compositional techniques, Joan Huang conjures the robust and rhythmic ritual dance traditions of the Tujia people of western Hunan. Jasmine Barnes’ Four Winds Concertante features Principal Oboe Titus Underwood and three principal players from other leading U.S. orchestras. And Mendelssohn, a devout admirer of Bach, wrote his Fifth Symphony in commemoration of the Protestant Reformation, heavily quoting the Lutheran chorale A Mighty Fortress is Our God.


Joan Huang: Tu-Jia Dance 
Jasmine Barnes: Four Winds Concertante 
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 5 (“Reformation”) 




Join us for Classical Conversations! One hour before the concert, enjoy a discussion of the evening's program in Balcony Lobby.