Concerts & Tickets

Concert Detail

Aegis Sciences Classical Series

Copland's Third

Featuring Fanfare for the Common Man

Thursday, June 1, 2017, 7:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Friday, June 2, 2017, 8:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Saturday, June 3, 2017, 8:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Tickets from $20 – must enter promo code SPRING
Nashville Symphony
Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor
Zuill Bailey, cello
Dvořák – Cello Concerto in B minor
Copland – Symphony No. 3 

Aaron Copland’s Third Symphony has been called "the Great American Symphony," with some of the composer's grandest and most inspiring music — including his Fanfare for the Common Man.

  • When his Third was premiered, Copland said he intended for the work to “reflect the euphoric spirit of the country at the time.” 
  • Of the work, Leonard Bernstein said, “The symphony has become an American monument, like the Washington Monument or the Lincoln Memorial.”
  • Soloist Zuill Bailey, who wowed audiences on Michael Daugherty’s Tales of Hemingway in 2015, returns to perform one of the great pieces of cello repertoire: Dvořák's Cello Concerto.

Presenting partners:





Our free Classical Conversations take place one hour before all Classical Series evening concerts in the Balcony Lobby. Led by conductors, guest artists and musicians, these informative talks are a great way to learn the story behind the music.

An informal question-and-answer session with the conductor will take place 10 minutes after the close of the concert, at the back of the orchestra level.


  • Two Nashville Symphony Concert Tickets
  • One Voucher Valid for Two Glasses of Wine
  • Five Goo Button Truffles from Goo Goo 

Click here to activate code LOVE & Purchase today.