Nashville Symphony | Lawrence Foster, conductor | Jun Iwasaki, violin

Brahms – Symphony No. 3
Bartók – Rhapsody No. 1
Enescu – Romanian Rhapsody No. 2
Bartók – Rhapsody No. 2
Enescu – Romanian Rhapsody No. 1

Concertmaster Jun Iwasaki steps forward as soloist as the Nashville Symphony travels to Eastern Europe for a program of lovely and lyrical rhapsodies written by two of the 20th century’s greatest composers. Inspired by the music of his native Romania, George Enescu brings together surging strings, brisk melodies and distinctly Eastern flavors in his two rhapsodies for orchestra. Hungarian composer Bartók’s own rhapsodies for solo violin and orchestra are the perfect complement, a truly original synthesis of the classical tradition with ages-old folk traditions. Rounding out the evening is Brahms’ enduring Third Symphony, a piece at once complex, compact and entirely satisfying.  

Come early and learn more about the music at our Classical Conversations hosted by assistant conductor Nathan Aspinall, taking place one hour before the concert in the Balcony Lobby.

Following the concert, assistant conductor Nathan Aspinall will lead an informal Q&A with special guests at the back of the concert hall, on the Orchestra Level.