Saturday, September 11, 2021

07:30 PM | Ascend Amphitheater

Click here or call 615.999-9000 to purchase tickets online for tonight’s concert, or visit the Ascend Amphitheater box office in person. We look forward to seeing you tonight!

PERFORMERS: Nashville Symphony | Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor | Stewart Goodyear, piano

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5
Barber: Adagio for Strings
Beethoven: Symphony No. 5

Bring friends and family to a spectacular night of music under the stars as Maestro Giancarlo Guerrero and your Nashville Symphony perform some of the most awe-inspiring music ever written.

The evening begins with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5, his last completed piano concerto, and it ends with his iconic Symphony No. 5.

Presented between these two energetic pieces is Samuel Barber’s elegiac Adagio for Strings. Included in many movie soundtracks, the work is today best known as one of the first musical memorials for the victims of September 11th  as critic Alex Ross remarked, “Whenever the American dream suffers a catastrophic setback, Barber’s Adagio plays on the radio.” We offer it as our own memorial for that anniversary as well as the many losses of this past year.

Click here to learn more about Ascend Amphitheater policies.