Wagner – Prelude to Die Meistersinger
Bruch – Violin Concerto No. 1
Dvořák – Symphony No. 9 "From the New World"

Nashville Symphony | Giancarlo Guerrero
, conductor | Joshua Bell, violin

Joshua Bell joins the Nashville Symphony to perform Bruch's First Violin Concerto, a breathtakingly lovely work that will showcase the dazzling musicianship of this celebrated violinist. Bell will perform on the legendary Huberman violin, once owned by Bronisław Huberman, founder of the modern-day Israeli Philharmonic. The evening closes with Dvořák's "New World" Symphony, an enduring masterpiece strongly influenced by the Bohemian composer's time living in the U.S.

This concert is presented as part of Violins of Hope Nashville, a citywide dialogue about music, art, social justice and free expression. In conjunction with Joshua Bell's appearance with the Nashville Symphony, the Nashville Jewish Film Festival will host a free public screening of The Return of the Violin, a documentary relating the remarkable story of Bell's instrument, 7 pm May 8 at the Main Public Library. More info.

Learn more about Violins of Hope Nashville.

Legends of Music Series Presenting Partner


Media Partner