Tuesday, May 07, 2024

07:30 PM | Schermerhorn Symphony Center



07:30 PM
Schermerhorn Symphony Center

All Tickets have been reserved. Standby seating will be available on the night of the concert. Please arrive at the Box Office or East Atrium 15 minutes before performance. 

Nashville Philharmonic Orchestra | Christopher Norton, Music Director and Conductor | Tal Benatar, Conducting Fellow | Nashville In Harmony | Wesley King, Artistic Director

The Nashville Philharmonic Orchestra, the largest volunteer community orchestra in Tennessee, is excited to conclude it’s 20th Anniversary season at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center this May. Join us as the NPO celebrates the many ways that we have developed and served communities all over the region for the past twenty years. 

This concert series will see the world premiere of a new work by composer Brian Raphael Nabors, commissioned by and for the NPO thanks to a generous donation from Dr. Joseph Awad in memory of his mother, Elvira Sawiris Awad. 

As we celebrate the community of artistic partners that the NPO has cultivated over the past 20 years (including the Nashville Symphony), we will be joined by Nashville In Harmony for three selections. All of Us (from Considering Matthew Shepherd) and arrangements of the Tennessee Waltz and What a Wonderful World will celebrate the 20 years of community that NIH has provided to musicians in the region. 

Nashville in Harmony will join the NPO to conclude the concert and our 20th Season with Beethoven’s orchestral masterpiece, his Symphony No. 9

The Nashville Philharmonic Orchestra 20 Years of Community concert series is presented by Steinway Piano Gallery Nashville. 

Admission is FREE, but tickets must be reserved in advance.



Brian Raphael Nabors: Voyages | World Premiere Commissioned by and for the NPO's 20th Anniversary Season
Craig Hella Johnson: All of Us (from Considering Matthew Shepherd)

arr. Wesley King: Tennessee Waltz
arr. Craig Hella Johnson: I Love You / What A Wonderful World
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No 9, Op. 125

 Claire Paschal, Soprano
 Grace Harrison, Mezzo-Soprano
 John Manson, Tenor
 Ryan Bede, Bass-Baritone