Concerts & Tickets

Concert Detail

Aegis Sciences Classical Series

Guerrero Conducts Bernstein

Featuring Anne Akiko Meyers

Friday, March 31, 2017, 8:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Saturday, April 1, 2017, 8:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Nashville Symphony
Giancarlo Guerrero
, conductor
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin
Gabrieli – Sonata pian’ e forte
Bernstein – Serenade (after Plato’s “Symposium”)
Shostakovich – Symphony No. 10

Frustrated with being pigeonholed as the composer of West Side Story, Leonard Bernstein wrote Serenade as a “serious” concert piece, but this vibrant, energetic work still crackles with his jazzy, distinctly American style.

  • Dazzling violinist Anne Akiko Meyers returns to perform as soloist on Bernstein’s Serenade, a piece composed for all strings.
  • Gabrieli was a Renaissance composer whose richly inventive music experimented with orchestral sonorities. His Fanfare will feature the Nashville Symphony brass, forming a striking contrast to Bernstein's Serenade.
  • Shostakovich’s monumental Tenth Symphony is from 1953, the year that Stalin died — a watershed moment in Russian history and in the composer's own life.

Our free Classical Conversations take place one hour before all Classical Series evening concerts in the Balcony Lobby. Led by conductors, guest artists and musicians, these informative talks are a great way to learn the story behind the music.

An informal question-and-answer session with the conductor will take place 10 minutes after the close of the concert, at the back of the orchestra level.


  • Two Nashville Symphony Concert Tickets
  • One Voucher Valid for Two Glasses of Wine
  • Five Goo Button Truffles from Goo Goo 

Click here to activate code LOVE & Purchase today.

Ms. Meyers’ appearance is made possible in part by Allis Dale and John Gillmor.