Concerts & Tickets

Concert Detail

Aegis Sciences Classical Series

Guerrero Conducts Mendelssohn

Friday, November 17, 2017, 8:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

Saturday, November 18, 2017, 8:00 p.m.

Schermerhorn Symphony Center

On sale NOW to 2017/18 subscribers & $500+ donors
•  Click here to subscribe
2017/18 subscribers: call 615.687.6400 to purchase now
 On sale to the public July 21 at 10am
Questions? Email


Nashville Symphony

Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin
Shostakovich – Violin Concerto No. 1
Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 3 “Scottish”
  • Mendelssohn’s “Scottish” Symphony No. 3 is inspired by a trip the 20-year-old composer took to Scotland, where he visited the ruins of an old castle: “Everything round is broken and mouldering and the bright sky shines in,” the composer wrote. “I believe I have found today…the beginning of my Scottish Symphony.”
  • It would take Mendelssohn a decade to complete the work. The music is vivid and expressive, but without making any specific references to Scottish scenery or lore.
  • GRAMMY-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich is one of the great violinists of his generation. He’ll be featured on Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1, a dramatic, technically demanding work.
  • Shostakovich wrote the concerto in 1948, but kept it locked in a drawer for several years, concerned that the work wouldn’t be approved by Soviet authorities.