Nashville Symphony | Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor | Garrick Ohlsson, piano 


Julia Perry: A Short Piece for Orchestra
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1
Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Our season opens with works that stretched boundaries and show the orchestra’s extraordinary range. Giancarlo Guerrero compares The Rite of Spring to “heavy metal” — still astounding more than a century after its debut. Julia Perry’s 1952 Short Piece packs in vigorous rhythms, pensive melancholy, and thunderous sound effects. And the one-and-only Garrick Ohlsson, a longtime collaborator in Nashville, joins us for Brahms’ sublime First Piano Concerto.


Please note that this event has a nine-ticket limit per household. For groups of ten or more, please submit our group inquiry form and we’ll contact you for assistance.


Thursday's performance is part of our YP Nights at the Nashville Symphony, a memorable social experience. Tickets are only $10 and include the performance and a free drink. Find out more.


Join us for Classical Conversations! One hour before the concert, enjoy a discussion of the evening's program in Balcony Lobby.

Classical Conversations is underwritten by

Blakeford Senior Life